Short Story Award


We were delighted to support this new short story prize, run by the Northern Short Story Festival and the Leeds Big Bookend Festival.


The winners were announced and the book was published at the Leeds Library on 22nd May 2018. The anthology, entitled May You (after one of Walter's poems which is included) contains the top twenty stories as judged by Anna Chilvers and Angela Readman. Anna presented the prizes to the top three authors. You can read more about the book and the winners in the link here: 


The competition was launched at the Northern Short Story Festival at the Carriageworks Theatre, Leeds in June 2017. 


  • maximum of 2000 words
  • all stories must be previously unpublished
  • entry is open to everyone aged 18+
  • fee £3
  • submission via Submission portal
  • no theme and entries can be on any subject 


Entries will be accepted up until 16th October 2017.


The judges are Anna Chilvers, author of Tainted Love, and Angela Readman, winner of the Costa Short Story Prize. Judge Anna Chilvers says: 'It's wonderful that the Walter Swan Trust is dedicated to nurturing emerging talent and I am delighted to be a part of this.'


There will be a cash prize of £200, £100 and £50 for the three winners. The top 20 stories will be published in an anthology by Valley Press in May 2018 (a change from the earlier date of March 2018).


For full competition information, please visit


Sign up for our Mailing List